Berklee in Africa – Part Two – South Africa

July 24, 2008 at 11:59 am (Karen, Trip 2008)

A year has passed since our Music Therapy group returned from the service-learning experience in Kenya. The friends we met have stayed in touch and we are especially connected to the Shangilia Mtoto wa Afrika Children’s Choir in Nairobi. They toured in November 2007 with Songs of the Spirit tour with Hugh Masekela and Odetta throughout New York and many of us were fortunate enough to be with them. Shangilia CDs, entitled Rejoice Child of Africa that were produced by JD Steele (executive producer, Tony Micocci) and recorded in New York City when the children toured New York State in 2007 are now on sale at Java Houses throughout Nairobi.

It is also on sale on the internet at CD Baby at http://cdbaby.com/cd/shangilia. Individual songs are purchasable for digital download. This has been set up through the Shangilia Foundation, USA, so all proceeds net of the handling charges retained by CD Baby, will go to SFUSA.

Our work with Shangilia led us to Kimberly A. Gamble-Payne, Special Adviser, Adolescent Development and Participation Programme Division, who has been advising us on the next phase of development for Music Therapy in Africa. After many meetings, phone calls, and presentations, the next phase of our fact finding mission is bringing us to South Africa.

Brenda Stevens Ross, Manager of the Music Therapy Institute at Berklee and I will be traveling to South Africa to ‘explore possibilities’ of building a new experiential, service learning trip for students in the summer of ’09.

We leave on August first and we’re hoping to share our experiences as we venture into the beauty of southern Africa. I wish I could bring all the students with us who traveled last year but that is not feasible – a new adventure begins…..

7 Comments

  1. Miriam Greenbaum said,

    YAY! You are there! I am so proud that you are already back in Africa a little over a year later. You have both done so much work to get this trip finalized, and I cannot wait to hear about all the wonderful things you will come across on your journey. Please keep us all up to date.

    Love,
    Miriam

  2. Donna Chadwick said,

    Congratulations once again upon your achievements in connecting the world through music. The love with which you plan and execute each project is truly inspiring. Another vision is now reality….allies are present at every turn. You stand in justice and joy. I am proud to be your colleague.

    Donna Chadwick

  3. Wyndy Jones said,

    Wow! I am so excited for you guys and the opportunities that are going to open up abroad. I am inspired by your hard work and dedication to this project. I am looking forward to hearing all about it when you get back! End of the summer BBQ at Karen’s ? I’ll bring some empanadas!

    Take care and Enjoy!
    Blessings,
    Wyndy

  4. Beth Longwell said,

    You’re somewhere in S. Africa right now, and I’m sure it’s the middle of the night there. I’m so excited for you, and I know many doors are going to open up for you on this trip. I can’t wait to hear all about it. I miss you so much all the way out here in California. I want to come to the BBQ at Karen’s! Maybe I can fly in…

    Anyway, soak it all in, have a blast, and bring back some pictures!

    Love you,

    Beth

  5. Singing Bowls said,

    Nice! I’ll be sure to check out the CD. I’ve become more and more intrested in music therapy over the last year or so and your blog has been great for me to live vicariously :)

  6. Muscial Instruments for Kids said,

    What a beautiful endeavor! I’m a huge fan of music therapy. Wishing you all the success you deserve… looking forward to learning more about what your up to.

  7. Lian Caspi said,

    What an incredible project. I’m applying for a grant to study music therapy and would love to talk to you, if you are willing to share some of your contacts. If you have an email address, I would love to email you with details. Thank you so much,
    ~Lian Caspi~

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

