The Children

May 18, 2007 at 5:58 pm (Spencer, Trip 2007)

spencer-and-little-boy.gifThe children of Shangilia are amazing. So full of energy and excitement. Today was like nothing I have ever seen before in my life. I struggle to express in words how difficult it is to see children living in these conditions but at the same time try to understand that they are happy to be living in a community and to no longer be living on the streets. They have nothing and yet sing, dance, play instruments, and perform. They immediately wanted to share their music with us and ours with them. They are all so beautiful, vibrent and active. I have never been chased and tackled by so many kids before in my life. Everyone wants to hold your hand or sit on your lap, strum a guitar while you finger the keys, play the calimba, sing a song. I had so many kids just facinated by my earrings it was hysterical. It was so hard to leave at the end of the day.

3 Comments

  1. mariam said,

    Hey Spencer,

    I am so happy your having such a great time…I hope everyday is as amazing as this day was for you!!!!!!!!! Mxxxxxx

  2. Jeanne Hardy said,

    It is so awesome to read these posts. Sounds like you all and your music are doing so much good. I think we need to mail the kids some soccer balls when you come home! Continue to have fun & make music! Love, Mom

  3. Michelle Tomczyk said,

    Hey!
    I’m so glad to read all the wonderful posts about this trip. it sounds AMAZING, and i know that I for one, am jealous that I can’t be over there involved in the greatness!

    I hope you don’t mind that i put this link on the NERAMTAS Facebook group. Everybody so far is so thrilled to read about the trip. 🙂

    Can’t wait to read more about it!

Leave a Reply

