……and we keep moving…..

May 19, 2007 at 10:23 pm (Trip 2007, Wyndy)

circle1.gifYet another amazing day! It is difficult to sum it all up in words. My emotions are on overdrive, but my spirits are definitely inspired! I’m realizing more and more that this trip is just a small seed that is going to continue to grow….. This mission is sooooo much bigger than I can even imagine. And I am excited to see how it all unfolds and how God is going to use each of us to make a difference…. back in the US, in Africa, and all over the world!
We visited Nyumbani Hospice for children with HIV/AIDS. Although it was our second visit, it felt like the first, because all of the children were home. This home gets a lot of support and its a very beautiful space, with lots of room for the children to run around and play. And of course I was running around and flipping and swinging right along with them. We played in the playground and exchanged songs. These kids danced and sing for us just like the kids a Shangilia. For a moment, you are engaged and enjoying the laughter of the babes and you forget that they have this disease.
I’m excited to go back tomorrow and take picture and get to know them more. I especially hope to reach out to the older children….
Oh yeah… they have pigs and geese and chickens and pets on ground. Its really cool. I never saw a pig before! They are cute, but they really stink! lol
Later….

3 Comments

  1. Rev.Gwendolyn M. Collins, Ph.D. said,

    I am so happy for all of you! This is a trip of a lifetime. Now, you see what I mean, when I say, “The poorest person in America, is rich, when compared with Third World countries.”
    While, I have some bad memories of being a Military wife, I am grateful for the opportunities to travel and learn so much about other parts of the world and its people.
    All of you be safe! Try not to let your emotions override your good judgements!

  2. Jah-Len Amari Jones said,

    I miss you, Mommy! I love you very much. I will be glad to see you and get my presents. Tell all the kids hi! When you come home, I want to see Martin, Precious and Taylor at your job. I am mad at Summer, Amanda and all of them for taking you away from me. Grandma said, you wanted to go and this is a good thing, but I miss my Mommy. I don’t want to go with my Daddy. Can I stay with my Grandma Gwen? o.k., bye Mommy!

  3. Destiny said,

    i can see you in the spirit girl!
    cherish and absorb it all cuz i know the time is flyin!
    continue to be the Light sister!
    i’m prayin 4 ya’ll

Leave a Reply

