better, but harder

May 26, 2007 at 6:40 pm (Amanda, Trip 2007)

Every day becomes more and more difficult for us as the realities of what we’re doing, the span of our work and the connections we are making become clearer. These are also reasons why each day becomes better and better.

All of us have fallen in love. There is an energy with these children and a passion with which they sing and play music and LIVE that astonishes all of us, coming from the society that we do. It’s a different passion, drive, energy that none of us feel we have ever lived with, and the lessons we are learning from these children will continue to effect us.

I’m having a hard time processing. At night I just need to cry, and sometimes I do, sometimes I can’t. Wyndy keeps reminding us this is not about us, and is so much bigger than us, bigger than we can even imagine or fathom….

This has to be short, I’m having a hard time coming up with words to explain everything… I’m in love with these children, and I am dreading Tuesday.. I miss everyone at home, but leaving is so hard…. who knows when we will return..? But I know we will… I think we all do…

Leave a Reply

