Good friends never say goodbye

May 27, 2007 at 7:54 pm (Miriam, Trip 2007)

To restate what Beth already said, I too had a difficult time leaving the girls at Nyumbani. Although I didn’t shed many tears, my heart was crying. I have so many questions. Will I see them again? Will they be there if I do go back? Will they remember me? Will I remember them? Will they continue to write songs and perform? Will we keep in touch? It is so easy to numb the feelings of separating from a place that carries so much stimulation. In a few days I’ll be back in my apartment in the midst of Jamaica Plain, MA. How will I learn to reintegrate the daily routine with the two week experience that occurred way way way way far away? The key for me is to figure out how to keep Kenya and the children in my heart, because I don’t want these memories to ever expire. I expect that this trip has allowed new challenges to blossom, and through this, there is a much wider expansion of possibility.

Leave a Reply

