Wait, where am I?

May 31, 2007 at 8:11 pm (Beth, Trip 2007)

beth-and-hamlan.gif

So, I just woke up from about 22 hours of very restless sleep. When I got home yesterday evening, I had a 101.4 fever with chills, nausea, headache, the whole shebang. I think it was a combination of major jet lag, and emotional and physical exhaustion.

I’m feeling somewhat better now, and I’m excited to go over to Karen’s tonight to chat with everyone and just see the group again. It’s weird having been around everyone pretty much 24 hours a day for the past 2 weeks, and now just not being around them.

It’s nice to be home, and it’s both comforting and strange how quickly I can fall back into comfortable routines.

Right now it’s 4pm here, so it’s 11pm in Nairobi. The kids at Nyumbani and Shangalia are probably sleeping, and they’ll wake up tomorrow and have another day. I can’t begin to explain how much I will miss them all. But such is life, and life goes on. I just feel blessed to have been able to share the time I did with the kids.

2 Comments

  1. Dad said,

    Welcome home, Beth! I remember how disoriented and disconnected I felt after 2-yrs in the Peace Corps. I don’t think I left my parent’s basement for a month! You all were gone for only two weeks, but I imagine in some ways it felt longer. Take time to savor the experience… and rest. When the time is right Mom and I want to hear all about your adventures. Love, Dad

  2. Wilsoke said,

    Like you, I had the luck of experiencing the “Nyumbani effect” 🙂 but just two years later, when the first “Spanish Volunteering Team” arrived to such a incredible place. I was googling for pictures of Nyumbani and have ended in your blog, reading a little bit of your experience and at the same time, going back there, playing with the kids, teaching them to use computers or just helping them with their homeworks. Thanks for the post, and sorry for my English, as it’s not my native language.

Leave a Reply

